How to Update Mac

Upgrade Mac OS

For better performance of your Mac device, update macOS and the apps whenever required. Use these solutions to Upgrade Mac OS.

Manually update macOS:

  • Step 1: For macOS Mojave or later versions, go to the Apple menu on the menu bar on the dock.
  • Step 2: Select System Preferences and then choose Software Update.
  • Step 3: The Software Update window opens up, and the available updates appear on the right-side panel of the window.
  • Step 4: Click the Update Now button next to the update shown to update the software.
  • Step 5: After this, the apps on the Mac device gets updated as usual.
  • Step 6: For updating macOS apps of an older version, launch the App Store on the Mac device.
  • Step 7: Following that, click the Updates icon on the App Store toolbar at the top of the window.
  • Step 8: The list of app updates display below, select Update Now next to the update.
  • Step 9: Download and install the newest app version on the device.

Automatically upgrade Mac OS:

  • Step 1: One way is to follow the path: Apple menu System Preferences Software Update on Mac device.
  • Step 2: Please tick the checkbox of the Automatically keep my Mac up to date option in the Software Update window.
  • Step 3: The other way is to open the App Store on Mac.
  • Step 4: Click the Download newly available updates in the background option to download the software automatically.

Update from the website:

  • Step 1: Specific applications or software that was downloaded from the website may possess this feature, but all the apps do not have this characteristic.
  • Step 2: Open the app or program on Mac, which has a built-in feature.
  • Step 3: Find the More or Help menu on the program, and select the Updates option.
  • Step 4: The program directs to the official website of the developer.
  • Step 5: Next, download and install the program online.
  • Step 6: If you are not able to update the app, delete the app and download the latest version it. Deleting or removing the app rather than uninstalling the app saves the settings of the app on the device.